Loved too much

image

Wrapped in parcels of paper
Tied with a thread
Letters just collect dust
I keep you in my heart instead

The syllables in your names
My lips won’t feel
Forbidden these moments
Are all I can steal

Call me a thief
But call me not a liar
I may’ve stolen these moments
But they’re all I’ve ever had, sire

In adorning silver ink
Your name I’ve written
How I wish this weren’t love
How I wish I were just smitten

But my soul steadily unravels
Under your silken touch
And I fear my heart shall break
For I’ve loved too much.

Leave a Reply

