Glutton for punishment

image

In the days of separation
That felt like years to me
I only dreamt of your smile
Your soft words unto me
I daydreamed of your touch
And the colour of your eyes
And words from a honey pot
That hid all your lies
I didn’t think much of the pinches
The angry red welts on my skin
Nothing of the dishonour
The shameful insult of my kin
I gladly forgot the hours
Of mind numbing despair
The minutes when looking into the mirror
all I did was stare
Not even a penny to the words
That speared through my bones
The burning sharp insults
That felt like hurled stones

So if you come back
And destroy me entirely
I won’t blame you
My soul it would seem
Is a glutton for your punishment

One thought on “Glutton for punishment

Leave a Reply

